Security Guard Training in New Jersey

Becoming a security guard in the garden state is a great career move. All security guards within New Jersey must be registered however. You will need to apply with the Superintendent. Under oath you will then need to swear to your full name, home address and be 18 years of age or older. Your criminal record will need to be free of any felony convictions and you will have to provide a list of your previous employers.

After your application is approved you can begin the security guard training program. This requires that you pay a non-refundable $75 fee however.  This course is normally around 30 hours of classroom style instruction and hands on training. Here is a list of skills that you will learn:

  • First aid
  • Power of arrest
  • WMD and anti-terrorism detection
  • Emergency response
  • Holding suspects
  • Customer Service
In order to take this course you will need to find a licensed security guard instructor.You can look through the Security Officer Instructor Registry for more information on this Security Officer Official Rules and Regulations for New Jersey

Also please note that you will be required to submit a digital copy of your fingerprints prior to starting your training. This aids in the mandatory background check. You will need to print the SAGEM MORPHO form and 30 Day Temporary Certificate from your online application. After you have these documents you can make an appointment at

Becoming a security guard in the state of New Jersey is an exciting and fulfilling career opportunity for the right person. Make sure you get the right training and get started on your new job today!